Who is – and who isn’t – attending the World Economic Forum? | Business and Economy News

Some 2,700 leaders from 130 countries, including 52 heads of state and government, will be attending the annual meeting in Switzerland.

The World Economic Forum’s (WEF) Annual Meeting 2023 will take place from January 16 to 20 in Davos, Switzerland.

The Annual Meeting brings together leaders from government, business and civil society to address the state of the world and discuss priorities for the year ahead.

Established in 1971 by the German economist Klaus Schwab, the event was originally known as the European Management Forum, until a name change in 1987.

The theme this year is “Cooperation in a Fragmented World”.

INTERACTIVE - What is the World Economic Forum

Who is – and who is not – attending?

According to the organisers, more than 2,700 leaders from 130 countries, including 52 heads of state and government, will be attending the annual meeting in the alpine resort town.

Germany’s Olaf Scholz is the only G7 leader scheduled to attend the event. On Sunday, South African president Cyril Ramaphosa’s spokesperson announced that the president would not be attending the event due to an ongoing energy crisis in the country.

INTERACTIVE - Who is attending DAVOS


  • Alain Berset – president of the Swiss Confederation 2023 and Federal Councillor of Home Affairs
  • Alexander De Croo – prime minister of Belgium
  • Andrzej Duda – president of Poland
  • Christine Lagarde – president of the European Central Bank
  • Sanna Marin – prime minister of Finland
  • Roberta Metsola – president of the European Parliament
  • Kyriakos Mitsotakis – pime minister of Greece
  • Mark Rutte – prime minister of the Netherlands
  • Pedro Sánchez – prime minister of Spain
  • Maia Sandu – president of the Republic of Moldova
  • Olaf Scholz – federal chancellor of Germany
  • Leo Varadkar – taoiseach of Ireland
  • Ursula von der Leyen – president of the European Commission
  • Aleksandar Vučić – president of Serbia


  • Chrystia Freeland – deputy prime minister and minister of finance of Canada
  • Avril Haines – US director of national intelligence
  • John F Kerry – special US presidential envoy for climate
  • Katherine Tai – US trade representative
  • Gustavo Francisco Petro Urrego – president of Colombia
  • Martin J. Walsh – US secretary of labor


  • Aziz Akhannouch – head of government of Morocco
  • Najla Bouden – prime minister of tunisia
  • Samia SuluhuHassan – president of the United Republic of Tanzania
  • Félix Tshisekedi – president of the Democratic Republic of the Congo


  • Ilham Aliyev – president of the Republic of Azerbaijan
  • Ferdinand Marcos, Jr – president of the Philippines
  • Yoon Suk-yeol – president of the Republic of Korea


  • Fatih Birol – executive director, International Energy Agency
  • Mirjana Spoljaric Egger – president, International Committee of the Red Cross.
  • Antonio Guterres – UN secretary-general
  • Kristalina Georgieva – managing director, International Monetary Fund
  • Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus – director general, World Health Organization
  • Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala – Director general, World Trade Organization
  • Catherine Russell – executive director, UNICEF
  • Jens Stoltenberg, secretary-general, North Atlantic Treaty Organization

Source link

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *